First Interstate Metropolitan Zone Approved

In December 2019, official approval of the first interstate metropolitan zone was carried out, which unites the municipalities of Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, and Bahía de Banderas, Nayarit, as a single region, an unprecedented event in all of Mexico because it involves two different states. It is estimated that both localities will have access to federal resources from the Fondo Metropolitano Nacional y Estatal (National and State Metropolitan Fund) by mid-2020.

This event, held at the Reflect Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta hotel, was attended by Román Meyer Falcón, secretary of Desarrollo Agrario, Territorial y Urbano (SEDATU) (Agrarian, Territorial and Urban Development), who spoke about land use planning that must be linked to the preservation of the environment to ensure a better future for coming generations.

Also present were Enrique Alfaro and Antonio Echeverría, governors of Jalisco and Nayarit, respectively, as well as Arturo Dávalos and Jaime Cuevas, mayors of Puerto Vallarta and Bahía de Banderas, respectively, who expressed their enthusiasm about the creation of this interstate metropolitan zone, with which they expect the arrival of more entrepreneurs willing to invest in the region.

This first interstate metropolitan zone joins the 74 metropolitan zones that exist throughout the country. Its authorization is the result of a process that lasted eight years and included a series of efforts made by different personalities in the real estate industry and authorities from both states and municipalities.

interstate metropolitan zone